A letter about the design defects of the Filecoin protocol

Greeting! @molly @protocol lab
I am a public-chain economy mode researcher, developer, and filecoin fans. My team and I hope that filecoin will achieve further human/commercial history.

I studied the filecoin protocol carefully and participated in Space Race deeply, I found many defects in the design of the public-chain protocol. These defects will lead to problems such as unfairness, centralization, selfish mining, permission, poor user experience, etc. of the public chain.

Next, I will explain the design defects one by one, and hope to have in-depth discussion with you on the solution.

EC Protocol

The probability of a miner being elected as a block leader is positively correlated with the historically accumulated storage power. This leads to miners who enter the network first, and the historically accumulated storage computing power will form a “moat” for miners who enter the network later. This is a bit like “the coin age attack”——popular in old POS protocols that are eliminated. For a permissionless public chain, this is obviously unfair.

In addition, considering miners generally “selfish mining”——miners only pack their own messages, a miner have to pack as much his owner messages as possible once he get the right to produce a block, so that he can improve his storage power. For small miners, the probability of obtaining block rights is too low, resulting in small miners have no chance to increase their stake. In all other popular POS chains, any small miner can easily increase his stake (for example, pledge more tokens or get more votes). This will inevitably lead to increasingly centralized filecoin.