How a sectorID is defined, related to content?

The file I am studying is /sector-base/src/api/disk_backed_storage.rs in project rust-fil-proofs. And it looks the sectorID, no matter for staging or sealed, is randomly selected by the minor. Anyone could confirm?

Hi Steven,

The rust-fil-proofs SectorBuilder is initialized with a last_used_sector_id value (see here). This value ultimately makes its way to the SectorMetadataManager, which uses the value when provisioning new yet-to-be-sealed sectors (see here).

Note: This values originates from go-filecoin - specifically the last committed sector id from the miner actor associated with the SectorBuilder being initialized (see here).

When a piece is added, the SectorMetadataManager looks through the yet-to-be-sealed-sectors which it manages to see if any contains enough space for the piece (see here). If there is not sufficient space to store the piece, a new yet-to-be-sealed sector is provisioned using the value of the (now-incremented) sector_id_nonce (see here).

Let me know if this does not address your question sufficiently.

Regards,

Erin

Hi Erin,

What are you talking is for staged sectors, i.e. yet-to-be-sealed-sectors.

Regarding sealed sectors, after read some codes, I think it is using random alphabetic 32-byte string, generated by function rand_alpha_string, which is invoked by function new_sector_access, then, new_sealed_sector_access, seal, in the up-layer, SealerWorker is calling seal.

Would you please confirm this, or correct me? thanks a lot.

Regards,
Steven

Hi Steven,

What are you talking is for staged sectors, i.e. yet-to-be-sealed-sectors.

I understand your question now.

The “sector id” is a concept that exists in the FIL protocol. It is referenced in the commitSector message, for example. When a yet-to-be-sealed sector is provisioned, it is assigned a sector id (as I described in my previous message). When the yet-to-be-sealed sector is sealed, it retains that original sector id.